Around 7 years ago I was introduced to the mystical experience of harvesting the Psilocybin and Psilocin containing fungi that are collectively known as ‘magic mushrooms’. I told a friend that I was interested in eating these mushrooms, and so, considering it was ‘mushroom season’ at the time, he showed me how to identify and locate the Psilocybe subaeruginosa species. There are hundreds of species of these psychedelic mushrooms on this Earth, most of which are of the Psilocybe genus. Unfortunately, many people consider the act of picking these mushrooms to be simply acquiring a substance to ‘trip out’ on. It is quite common knowledge that micro-dosing this substance(s) can have huge positive impacts on our health, and Psilocybin containing mushrooms have been used by numerous different cultures for entheogenic and ritualistic purposes for thousands of years… I refer to these mushrooms as ‘medicine’ for obvious reasons, and the harvesting of them is an amazing and deeply profound experience, in my opinion at least.

Since moving to Far North Queensland 4 years ago, I have been harvesting species similar to the P. subaeruginosa, but not the same. The difference in mushroom hunting in these two highly different ecosystems is quite apparent; different species grow in different ecosystems which require different harvest methods and harvest approaches. The mystical feeling that came with mushroom hunting in Victoria was not evident in Far North Queensland; wading through the bracken ferns, listening to the wind blow in the pine trees, and rugging up in a warm, woollen jumper are all fond memories of Winter days spent hunting ‘magic mushrooms’ in Victoria. The reality of mushroom hunting in Far North Queensland is definitely still enjoyable, yet much less appealing to me; hot, humid days spent praying that the farmer doesn’t see you traversing their cow paddocks. It is for this reason that I decided to return to my hometown (Mornington Peninsula) just recently; to partake in one of my favourite recreational activities while stocking up on fungal medicines.

subs.jpg

The P. subaeruginosa are native to Australia and New Zealand, and are dependant on drops in temperature and increased moisture levels. On the Mornington Peninsula (and most of South-East Australia), this begins around late May and ends around early August; of course seasonal and geographical differences occur. Fortunately many of my friends from my hometown are mushroom-hunters themselves, so I know exactly when the season is peaking. This year, the beautiful weather that blessed us while I was down resulted in less than optimal growing conditions. Warm, sunny days were drying out my old patches of ‘subs’ from the moment I landed. Although the weather wasn’t great for an abundance of mushrooms, I spent many picturesque days traversing landscapes that were drenched in memories and a feeling of belonging. Reconnecting with these landscapes and fungal species was a deep, soul-enriching experience that ignited opposing emotional states. The simple act of harvesting these mushrooms is deeply spiritual, and it is common for me to experience a shift in consciousness simply through harvesting them.

Another medicinal fungus that shows itself at this time of year is the Amanita muscaria. This species is shrouded in shamanism, faye realm, and false accusations. Many people believe that this species is deadly if ingested. It does contain a compound called ibotenic acid that is toxic to humans, however, the decarboxylation process that occurs when heated converts the ibotenic acid into the psychoactive known as muscimol. The A. muscaria are an introduced species in Australia; they have a symbiotic relationship with the introduced pine trees, and grow underneath them quite abundantly throughout Winter. This trip I harvested and dried some of these potent mushrooms for the first time. Harvesting enough took around an hour roaming through the pine forests cutting the caps of these large fungi from their stems. I dried them and vacuum sealed them for later use where I will smoke the red caps and/or consume them as a decoction.

amanita.jpg

There are numerous other species of mushrooms to be found on the Mornington Peninsula this time of year; Suillus luteus and Lactarius deliciosus are two edible mushroom species that aren’t psychoactive. It’s a common sight to see people of Middle-Eastern and European heritage walking roadside assessing the fungal specimens for use as food. The drier weather had me feeling doubtful of big hauls of these species, so I focused my efforts on the magical P.subaeruginosa, and mystical A. muscaria. Fortunately, I left my hometown with an abundance of both species, along with an eagerness to experience the effects of Amanita intoxication, and an eagerness to re-visit psychedelic experiences with the Psilocybe mushrooms.

For me, the act of harvesting and consuming wild entheogenic organisms taps into my primal human roots. I believe that our humanness has been shaped by the use of these sacraments, and continuing to use them will only benefit our human consciousness. It seems logical to me to use wild entheogens to shift our current domesticated reality. If anything, it was a great adventure spent wandering the pine forests and eucalyptus forests of my hometown!